ITIL V2 Or V3 Foundation Certification

There is tiny today that is not automated. As a result of this vast dependence on technology, it has become nearly impossible to function without control over technology. However, this control over technology, just like technology itself, is ever-changing, which means that for one to be proficient in the field, one has to keep up with the changing trends.

This applies to corporations as well as it does to individuals. For corporations to be successful, they must have a firm grasp over information technology and be able to adapt to changes effectively and immediately to be able to keep progressing in the competitive environment. To ensure this adaptation process continues, frameworks have been developed to manage IT services.

What is ITIL Certification?

The Information Technology Infrastructure Library (ITIL) is one such framework designed to align the needs of the business with the IT management practices in place. The framework itself does not cater to company-specific practices but can be used to measure and control performance in the IT sector. It has become a global standard among various industries around the globe and promotes rapid growth in industries.

Just as the field of technology is prone to constant changes, it would be unjustified if the certification itself is not updated with time. Due to this very reason, the framework is updated every few years to ensure that it is up to par with all the contemporary norms of the IT world. As more and more people looking to excel in the field, they seek ITIL training to prepare for the various modules of the ITIL certification.


At present, the levels of the ITIL go up to 5. This is the ITIL version 3, and the individual modules consist are:

  • ITIL foundation certification: this is the most basic level of ITIL and does not involve very complex course material or practices. Giving the ITIL foundation makes you eligible to appear in the subsequent modules.
  • ITIL Practitioner certification: the practitioner module is slightly more complex and requires practical knowledge of the field. You cannot appear in this module without having given the foundation.
  • The intermediate certification: the intermediate module is more complex and consists of two distinct fields: service lifestyle and service capability. You could also choose different modules from both categories and get the intermediate level.
  • The expert certification: the expert level certification consists of all aspects of the ITIL and is a rigorous course.
  • The masters certification: the master’s is the highest level of ITIL version 3 that one can acquire.


Although the ITIL 3 is the current version of the ITIL, it is not the only version of ITIL ever to exist, and nor will it be the last. The ITIL 2 came in 2001 and was in practice until May 2007. The ITIL V2 was a less detailed version of the ITIL than ITIL 3. All it consisted of was the two domains of ITIL Service Support and the ITIL service delivery. To make clear what the main differences between ITIL 2 and 3 are, what follows is a contrast between the two versions:


Where the ITIL V2 consisted only of 10 processes and one function, the ITIL V3 consists of a diverse 26 processes and four functions. This then also leads to the V3 being a much lengthier certification with 1400 pages divided into five critical publications of the service lifecycle in comparison to the 700 pages of the ITIL V2. This division in service lifecycle is also compulsory for the ITIL V3 because version 3 is more service-oriented, whereas the ITIL V2 is more process-oriented.

However, with the ITIL 3 is highly organized; it is contained within five books, while the ITIL 2, being the less organized variant, was contained in a set of 7 books. In addition to this, the ITIL V2 focuses more on aligning business services with each other. On the other hand, the ITIL V3 focuses more on integrating business with IT services.

Moreover, under the concepts of the ITIL V2, demand management is considered a subset of capacity management. In contrast, in the Version 3 of ITIL, demand management is given a distinct position in service management. Then the more process-oriented system of ITIL V2 meant that only service level management was discussed, while in the ITIL V3 managed services as a portfolio.

ITIL Training

As the complexity of the ITIL certifications grows, people look to find guidance in the field to prepare for this certification and pass the exam. To cater to this need and given the availability of such a niche in the such a competitive market, several training organizations have carefully designed curricula to prepare the students for the exams. These training sessions help students gain an in-depth understanding of the course and do well in the exam.

Why Give ITIL Exam?

But throughout all this discussion, what really should be a point of discussion is what benefits it gives you. So, here are some benefits that an ITIL Certification gives you:

  • Better Pay:

When it comes to the credits of the ITIL certification, it is one of the most valuable degrees in the world of Information Technology. Having an expert or master’s level certification in the ITIL opens several different employment opportunities. This is one of the most motivating factors for practicing professionals to acquire the certification.

  • Rooted Concepts:

Another reason for people to acquire this certification is to gain benefit from the concepts in the ITIL. These concepts are rooted firmly in the world of IT. Then to really be an expert in the field of Information Technology, the certification becomes more of a requirement. The skill acquired with this certification then also adds flexibility to one’s job and helps take on versatile job roles with regards to the field, which can really lift one’s career.

Leave a Reply